Brilliant ‘No Knead’ Bread

I caught up on the Finals week of Masterchef Australia 2013 last night.

Six episodes straight culminating in the Grand Finale. It was nail-biting drama. The angst, the sweat, the tears (theirs and mine!) I’ve been a Masterchef fan for many years but this year just didn’t capture me as much as the last few seasons. I watched a few early episodes, then our T-box gave up for a bit so we missed a huge chunk in the middle, but came back to watch the Finals week.

One thing I did enjoy this year was Matt Preston’s segment in the Masterclasses. Gary and George gave a great performance, upholding their legendary chef status, while dear old Matt presented us with the “Cheat’s Way” of cooking a variety of easily achievable meals. I liked it! Quick, simple and easy cooking producing delectable gourmet results. A perfect fit for those of us ‘non-chefs’ out there, who work, have kids and a million other things that prevent us from spending as much time as we would like in the kitchen.

So during the last Masterclass, Matt made bread with homemade butter and raspberry jam. The bread looked amazing so I decided to give it a go this morning.

Just four simple ingredients. Mix, leave, bake, eat. It couldn’t be easier, but I’m always a bit skeptical about things that appear easy on TV.

So I got a big bowl, mixed together a tablespoon of sea salt flakes, a kilo of Baker’s Flour, a tablespoon of dried yeast and 950ml of lukewarm water. Cover it with cling wrap and place in the fridge. Leave overnight, or in my case, leave while I went to work for the day. (I guess it depends when you begin!) Anyway, roughly 6-8 hours more or less.

When I came home from work, it looked like this.

20130906-193257.jpg

Whoopie! Looking good! So I preheated my oven to 220C while allowing the dough to get to room temperature. Prepared 2 baking trays with baking paper and heavily floured them as the dough is very wet. Dollop half the mixture on one tray for a big loaf and I made rolls with the second half of the dough. You can’t mould this dough. Just drop it in lumps on the tray as best you can. You know, in true non-chef’ style.

They took about 45 minutes to an hour to bake. Give them a knock on the base to check if they are cooked through. If they sounds hollow, you are done.

And here they are.

20130906-193322.jpg

I was pretty thrilled. They looked just like Matt’s and tasted unbelievable! The middle was soft and had lots of air bubbles which I love. The crust was crisp and chewy all at once.

I have renamed it ‘Brilliant Bread’. Nothing better than fresh, warm bread with butter. I polished off two rolls before you could say “no carbs after lunchtime”. Oh well. Just between you and me, it was so worth it!

I think everybody should have a go at making this bread. It was so easy, so delicious and so gourmet!

 

 

20130906-193347.jpg

Tagged: , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Brilliant ‘No Knead’ Bread

  1. shrygoswami September 7, 2013 at 12:37 am Reply

    This looks really good, Kylie…will try it asap! Thanks for sharing. And I agree with you, Masterchef Australia Season 5 just wasn’t as exciting as the ones before.

    • Kylie September 7, 2013 at 6:30 am Reply

      No problem! I think I got put off this season with the fact they just announced the top 25 without seeing any auditions. They just picked people with good stories, not necessarily great cooks. Anyway, a few of them ended up being pretty good in the end!

      • shrygoswami September 14, 2013 at 3:14 pm

        My favorite was Christina, though I was quite partial towards Lynton and Rishi too. Btw, where are you based? I’m based in New Delhi and Calcutta, and would love to understand the fresh produce you get in your local market and compare/substitute with produce in local markets in India.

      • Kylie September 14, 2013 at 3:18 pm

        I’m in Sydney. Ask away…. I’ll see if I can answer your questions! How do you watch Masterchef over there??? Is it on tv??

      • shrygoswami September 14, 2013 at 3:22 pm

        Sydney? Really? Have you ever been to Zumbo’s in Balmain? Yes we do get to watch Masterchef Au on tv…and since I’m more or less obsessed with Gary Mehigan, George Colambaris and Adriano Zumbo, I follow their websites, books, etc.

      • Kylie September 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

        I have been to Adriano Zumbo’s shop in Balmain! There was queue out the door, but it was worth it! Delicious bread and quiches, and of course his delectable desserts, cakes and macaroons!

      • shrygoswami September 15, 2013 at 12:26 am

        (I really needed an emoticon here because there’s no other way I can express my wonder!) I watched Zumbo’s series too after watching him on MC Au. I have been baking since I was six years old and Zumbo’s vision for desserts really taught me a lot. However, I have tried his favorite pastry, choux pastry, thrice and it never came out perfect.

  2. Sue September 7, 2013 at 8:00 am Reply

    I made this bread after I’d seen the show, it’s amazing, tastes so good and just like having your own artisan baker in- house! I’ve been mucking around with sourdough breads (from scratch) for about a year now with mixed results…..no longer as this will be my method of baking bread from now on, it’s quick, no mess and works every time.

    • Kylie September 7, 2013 at 8:07 am Reply

      I think it would hard to beat Sue, but I’m always keen to try new things! This one is just so easy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

