The old exploding tomato trick

So I feel like I’m starting on a bad note but it’s kind of funny looking back. Kind of. Not so funny at the time.

I had Kid 1 home from school today and he felt like soup, so being the supermum that I am, I set about making him minestrone in the Thermomix. I was feeling pretty organised, pretty schmick with my production and was ready to add the can of tomatoes at the next Thermie beep.

I grabbed the ring pull on the lid and gave a slight tug. There was a hissing and a splutter and I realised something was not quite right with the can. I turned my back (thank goodness!) and “BANG!!” The entire can exploded all over my kitchen. It was everywhere. All over me, all over the walls, under the cupboard, in the cupboard, on the floor and all over the ceiling!

Hmmm…not so schmick after all it seems!

We did have our soup in the end and it was good. Well earned soup I say!

2 thoughts on “The old exploding tomato trick

  1. Bec H November 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm Reply

    And all over those new tiles too!!

    • Kylie November 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm Reply

      Ha! Yep! They scrubbed up quite nicely too!

Leave a Reply

