Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Parmesan

I’m at work, at my desk, eating this soup and just had to blog about it, because it is delicious!

Last week I tried the Cauliflower Soup in the Everyday Cookbook (EDC) and I just knew from the ingredients that it wasn’t going to be the most flavoursome soup out there. Cauliflower, water, flour, butter, salt…hmmm… I wasn’t convinced. The added parmesan at the end just didn’t cut it either.

Now, without bagging it out too much(my husband did eat it all), but the flavour really had no depth to it. Where was the onion, garlic and stock? A bit more creativity wouldn’t have gone astray!

I went straight the the Thermomix Recipe Community website for inspiration and I found “Rockpool’s Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Parmesan”. A quick scan of the ingredients and I knew it would be a hit.

Now, for those non-Aussies, Rockpool is a restaurant in Sydney headed by the famous chef Neil Perry. It’s been around for years, had its ups and downs, yet still remains a favourite. Neil Perry developed the food for Qantas many years ago.  Being an ex-hostie myself, I remember distinctly the Zucchini and Parmesan Soup they used to serve in the pointy end. We would wait until the end of service hoping that not many had ordered it so we could all tuck into it! If this Cauliflower Soup was anything similar, I was going to make it!

So late last night I whipped it up for today’s lunch. Hubby couldn’t wait and polished off a bowl as soon as it was cooked. Now, at my desk, it is the highlight of my boring day! Full of stock, onion, garlic, a bit of Dijon Mustard, freshly milled parmesan…mmmm. I didn’t add as much salt as the recipe said, and I left the cream out too.  I’m glad I have a few extra serves leftover in the fridge. I’ll definitely be making this one again.

Here’s the link: Rockpool’s Cauliflower Soup with Parmesan

And if you would like the Thermomix version of the recipe, CLICK HERE

Cream of Cauliflower Soup

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Parmesan

  1. Bec H December 6, 2012 at 9:33 am Reply

    Kyls, I made this soup a couple of months ago, coincidentally (with cauliflowers from our vegie patch) and it was incredible. The Kid couldn’t get enough of it! It’s a real winner, isn’t it?

    • Kylie December 6, 2012 at 9:35 am Reply

      I’m having it for lunch again today! Btw, loved your crochet post! You’re so clever!!

Leave a Reply

