Fruity Pear Mince Tarts

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas so some Christmas baking was in order. I’m trying out the Fruity Pear Mince Tarts from the Festive Flavour booklet by Thermomix.

I’m blogging as I bake so we shall see how they turn out.

I began by making the almond pastry from the EDC book. A few minutes and its done! Such a breeze! Into the fridge for 15 mins and then I pressed it into greased muffin tins. Voila! The recipe asks for an egg yolk, but save your egg white for the marzipan stars.

20121215-162556.jpg
On to the Fruit Mince.
There is nothing that says Christmas more than the smell of fruit mince, especially home made! The delectable concoction comprises of orange zest, pears, sugar, craisins, currants, glacé ginger, flaked almonds, orange and lemon juice, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, nutmeg and brandy. Is your mouth watering yet? Let me tell you, I wish you had smellavision to get a whiff of this while its bubbling away!

20121215-163236.jpg
For the tart tops I need to make marzipan stars…well, circles in my case because I’ve lost my star cutter. Circles will suffice! Blanched almonds are required for the marzipan, however if like me, you only have raw almonds, have no fear – you can blanch your own!
Just throw your almonds in the Thermie, cover with water and put on for 4 mins, Varoma temperature on reverse, speed 1. Drain and throw your blanched nuts into a clean tea towel, give them a rub and like magic, those little nuts just slip out of their skins. Another Thermomix money saving trick!

Once again the marzipan is super fast to make and rolls out really easily. Ensure your board is sprinkled with cornflour before rolling out because the marzipan is sticky. I think I’m ready to put these tarts together!
Fruit mince into tart cases.

20121215-170349.jpg
Top with marzipan circles… Or stars if you must!

20121215-171116.jpg
And into the oven until golden.

Using the given recipe, I would make double the almond pastry as I have plenty of fruit mince and marzipan left for a second batch.

A few minutes to go and they are beginning to smell delicious…

I guarantee you will never buy store bought fruit mince or mince tarts once you have made these. I used to avoid recipes where you had to make pastry. Not any more!

20121215-182715.jpg

20121215-182809.jpg
Here is the link for the Almond Pastry The EDC cookbook adds in half a teaspoon of mixed spice as well.

Here is the Fruity Pear Mince Tart</a
recipe

Here is the Marzipan Stars recipe

I can’t wait to adorn my Christmas table with these!

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Fruity Pear Mince Tarts

  1. Kim December 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm Reply

    can you make is without a thermomix? feel like the poor rellie as i would love a thermo but cant persuade hubby it would be worth the cost!!!!

    • Kylie December 15, 2012 at 6:47 pm Reply

      Kim, I’m sure you could if you have a food processor. I’ll work out a recipe for you to try. Will get onto it tomorrow for you. I’ll adapt it!

      • Kylie December 15, 2012 at 6:48 pm

        I think I need to start sending some Thermie food samples to your place for Richard!

Leave a Reply

