Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

I have experimented this afternoon with Donna Hay’s recipe for Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies.

I will say up front that these cookies really, really delicious. Light, crispy chocolate cookies with choc chips and a hint of peppermint from the chopped candy canes. Very Christmassy and very yummy.

I adapted parts of the recipe for thermomix usage which I will share below, along with a link for Donna’s original recipe. I found it in the Christmas Dec/Jan 2009 issue of the Donna Hay magazine and it is also on her website.

I have had a long love affair with Donna Hay’s cookbooks and magazines. I drool over the gorgeous pictures and love the simplicity of her ingredients and methods. Mostly, I am just drawn in by her food styling. She is a master. I even met her once and had my cookbook autographed (minor claim to fame – I was excited!)
I love that most of the time I can replicate the recipes just like my idol, convincing myself that I too am a Donna Hay-like domestic goddess.

I was sure of it….until today. I am at the pointy end of my Christmas preparations. Doing all I can in advance, but not so soon that things go stale. My plans possess military precision and everything must go to plan with so much to do in such little time.
So here is Donna’s photo of the cookies.

20121221-175629.jpg
Before we cross to my finished product, let me reiterate to you that they really are delicious.
Here are my cookies. All four trays of them.

20121221-175802.jpg
What happened to my lovely chopped candy cane rounds adorning each little cookie? They melted, that’s what. How did Donna achieve such perfection? I too could wrap my little cookies in white paper and put a red ribbon around them, but nothing gets past the fact that my cookies are vastly inferior in appearance. Too embarrassing for gifts and I am running out of time. I suspect Donna has added her candy cane pieces to the cookies immediately after they come out of the oven, before they harden. My Christmas baking bliss has turned into Christmas stress.
On the upside, they do taste jolly good. The kids will still love them.

Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies Thermomix Style<strong

Ingredients

110g butter, chopped
175g brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
120g dark chocolate, melted
280g dark chocolate, chopped
150g plain flour
25g cocoa
1/2 tsp bicarb soda
120g chopped candy canes

Method

Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celcius.
Place butter and sugar in TM bowl. Mix for 1 minute at speed 4.
Add egg and vanilla and mix for 10-15 secs on speed 3. Set aside in large mixing bowl.
Add dark chocolate for melting into clean TM bowl. Grate for 5 secs on speed 9. Melt for 1 minute at 50 degrees on speed 3.
Add melted chocolate, flour, cocoa and bicarb to butter mixture and stir until just combined.
Spoon onto trays lined with baking paper and top with chopped candy cane pieces. Keep your cookies small and well spaced as they will flatten and spread. Bake for 12-15 mins or until cookies are firm at edges. Cool on trays.

Here is Donna Hay’s Chocolate Candy Cane Cookie recipe.
If anyone has greater success with cookie appearance, please let me know what you did differently. In the meantime, cheers to everyone with more Christmas Cheer than Christmas perfection!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

  1. mydearbakes December 21, 2012 at 7:35 pm Reply

    Nice! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe! =)

    • Kylie December 21, 2012 at 7:42 pm Reply

      Thank you! Hope your Cookies turn out as beautifully as the first photo!!

      • mydearbakes December 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm

        I certainly hope so, Kylie! ^^

  2. Brittany December 22, 2012 at 12:05 am Reply

    These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

