Porridge

It’s Autumn in Sydney and the weather has certainly gone downhill since 1 March. Rain, rain and more rain. The temperature has dropped, the doona has gone onto the bed and it felt like the perfect morning to make porridge.

I hadn’t made porridge in my Thermomix thus far and after a customer raved about it, I thought I’d give it a try. I have to say I’m impressed!

I am a fan of porridge. It’s so warming and a hearty way to start the day. I love it with brown sugar or golden syrup. I love it with banana on top. I also really love it with stewed apricots and prunes.

I usually make porridge either on the stove or in the microwave. None of those fake flavour packets…I always make it from scratch. Now on the stove top, you need to stir it and the saucepan is a pain to clean afterwards, especially if you don’t get it into water straight away. Microwave porridge turns out well but boy, do you have to keep an eye on it. If you’re not careful, it boils over and then you’ve lost your porridge and you’ve got yourself a cleaning job instead.

Thermomix porridge is beautiful and creamy. There’s no mess and the bowl is easy to clean. I used the recipe from the Every Day Cookbook, but halved it. It made a lot of porridge. Enough for 2-3 people so beware, the original recipe makes enough for an army. I used hot water, instead of cold and I reduced the time to 9 minutes instead of 11 for the halved quantity. I’m on my own this weekend and as I sit here listening to the rain bucketing down at 9 o’clock in the morning I am thinking of the rest of my family who are camping. Yes, I said camping. All weekend. They left yesterday afternoon in the rain and it’s still raining. Maybe my leftover porridge won’t go to waste because they might be home any minute. How miserable. I’m glad my porridge and I are inside, in the warm, dry house.

Anyway, back to porridge. If you haven’t tried it in the Thermomix, give it a go. It’s great!

Here are a few other versions I found on the Recipe Community.

Fruit Porridge

Apple and Sultana Porridge

Gluten Free Low GI Porridge

Power Porridge

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

