Beef, Vegetable and Barley Soup

I love this meal. It’s delicious and hearty and fabulous in winter. I’m starting early. I can’t wait any longer for the cooler autumn weather, and besides, I needed something quick and easy tonight.

I happened across another foodie blog, foodfilanderer and found the perfect solution to my dinner dilemma.

Barley and Autumn Vegetable Soup

Image

Now, I have a recipe from The Biggest Loser website called Lamb and Barley Hotpot which I really love and Son 1 loves it with gusto too. He was harping for it tonight so despite having no lamb I set about doing my best. (I always find that I’m just scrounging to make something out of what little is in my fridge or cupboard – the life of a working mum, what can I say!)

I haven’t cooked barley in my Thermomix before so looked for a recipe which involved cooking barley and up came the recipe from the ‘foodfilanderer’ blog.  What an easy one it was!

I made my own tweaks and chopped vegies on speed 5 for a couple of seconds – potato, sweet potato, celery, carrots and 4 cloves of garlic, added 3/4 cup of barley to the bowl, chopped scotch fillet, a tablespoon of Vegetable Stock Concentrate from the EDC cookbook, 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and water to the maximum mark on the TM bowl. Cooked it for 45 minutes at 100 degrees on Reverse Speed 1. It was perfect! If using lamb, I would add a few leaves of rosemary too. You could also throw in other chopped vegies like green beans towards the end of the cooking process. It’s one of those recipes that you can use up what you have and it will always turn out tasting great.

I didn’t get around to the fresh bread to go with it. My Supermum cape was in the wash today.

This is the Biggest Loser Lamb and Barley Hotpot

Image

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

