Cranberry and Almond Granuesli with Vanilla Yoghurt and Spiced Pears

I think I have a new favourite food. It was love at first bite.

I treated myself to a couple of new cookbooks – ‘For Food’s Sake’ by Tenina Holder and ‘Quick Fix In The Thermomix’ by Alyce Alexandra. They are lovely new additions to my kitchen with gorgeous photos and hard covers. I have been poring over them every day, page by page since they arrived in a parcel on my doorstep. (Don’t you love a parcel in the post? Even if you did order it yourself!)

Last night I made Alyce Alexandra’s Spiced Pears. I belong to a Fruit and Vegetable co-op group. Two out of eight families venture out to the markets every fortnight to buy fruit and vegetables for the whole group. It is a very economical way to shop and it’s lovely to receive an abundance of fresh produce to enjoy, especially when it’s all done for you! I had to change my way of shopping and cooking to accommodate the copious amounts of some items and over time it has become easier. You just need to be creative!

This week I had some pears that needed to be used up so this recipe was perfect. Chop a knob of ginger in the Thermomix. Add in peeled and quartered pears, a cinnamon stick and two star anise. Cook for 30 minutes, 90 degrees, Reverse and Speed Soft. Fantastic to have on their own, on porridge or  with custard.

Then this evening, as I perused through Tenina’s book, I came across her ‘granuesli’, and on having all the ingredients at hand, set about making it straight away. This too was an easy recipe and well worth it! I taste tested it as soon as it was done, with some vanilla yoghurt and spiced pears. YUM! I am sure it will become a firm favourite in our house!

Cranberry and Almond Granuesli

150g unsalted butter, cubed

180g maple syrup or honey

good pinch of sea salt

2 tbsp vanilla bean paste

– Place these ingredients into the TM bowl and melt for 4 minutes/60 Degrees/speed 2.

300g whole raw almonds

60g sunflower seeds

– Spread onto a large flat tray and toast in the oven at 200 degrees C for about 10 mins. Cool

4-5 cups rolled oats

– Spread oats onto a tray and drizzle with butter mixture.

– Mix by hand until evenly distributed

– Bake at 160 degrees C for about 20 mins, mixing occasionally, until crispy.

– Place cooled nuts into TM bowl and chop roughly 3 secs/speed 4

– Place nuts, cooled oat mixture into a large mixing bowl

100g craisins

50g shredded coconut

– Mix in coconut and craisins and store in an airtight container

My Vanilla Yoghurt of choice is Danone Greek Breakfast Yoghurt – Natural and Sweet. I’m sure it’s full fat, in fact, I haven’t even studied the label. All I know is it is delicious and now a staple on my shopping list.

So, I sampled the Granuesli, topped with Yoghurt and Spiced Pears….and that was it. New favourite food. Love it. Do yourself a favour and try it!

20130314-210142.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

