Easter Hot Cross Buns

I thought I’d better get a head start on my Hot Cross Buns well before Easter as I haven’t made them before. Leaving time to perfect them before the Easter Weekend is a good thing.

That being said, I think my first attempt was ok. (‘Not bad at all’ she says with her mouth stuffed full of bun)

I used the recipe in the Thermomix Everyday Cookbook. They have always looked a bit tricky to attempt before, with their fancy little cross and lovely shiny glaze. Too many steps for a busy gal like me. But the Thermomix has made life a lot simpler. The recipe was a snack (ha, literally!).

The dough was similar to any basic dough with some milk warmed in the first step. I used buttermilk as I had some saved from making butter this afternoon. As you do…Kylie Homemaker hard at work in the kitchen. Striving for my Easter Domestic Goddess crown!

After adding the basic dough ingredients, you also add in cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Smelt fantastic. After mixing, just add in the fruit. Now, I did leave out the citrus peel and only used currants and sultanas in the last step. Personal preference, and besides I didn’t have any on hand. Lame attempt to get the kids to eat them too.

Leave the dough to rise. And rise it does! That dough grew a lot and I don’t think I left it the full hour and a half as they recipe stated. I made eight rolls out of my dough but next time I am going to make them a lot smaller because they kept growing.

Making the mixture for the crosses was easy. I just put it into a plastic ziplock bag and cut the corner off to make a piping bag. It worked fine but I think my mixture was a bit runny. They looked a bit disastrous while baking but once the buns browned up, the crosses were there!

Making the sugar syrup for the glaze was so simple. Two minutes and it was done. Just brush this onto the buns when they are hot out of the oven. Much better than making sugar syrup in a saucepan. Stirring and making sure it doesn’t burn. Love that Thermie!

The texture of them was quite light and springy. I was impressed considering some homemade bread doughs can be a tad dense. Delicious with my homemade butter!

Next time I’ll make them smaller and maybe add my fruit into the dough by hand. I might even try some choc chip ones. The kids will definitely eat those!

Here’s to my next attempt and I might be a dab hand by Good Friday.

Hope my first attempt and tips will lead to a better first attempt for you. Have a go!

Happy Easter!

Hot Cross Buns

 

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Easter Hot Cross Buns

  1. […] Easter Hot Cross Buns (kylielovescooking.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Jess March 24, 2014 at 5:25 pm Reply

    Awesome recipe! I love hot cross buns.
    Here is another recipe you might like to try.
    Hot Cross Buns Recipe
    Thanks for Sharing!
    Jess

    • Kylie April 6, 2014 at 8:33 am Reply

      Thanks! They sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

