Date and Lime Cake

I’m busy doing some baking for Easter tonight. I think just knowing that I have four days ahead without any commitments has made me feel like I have all the time in the world for baking. So, after my second batch of Hot Cross Buns – much better than the first batch and very yummy – I have made the Date and Lime Cake from the Thermomix Budget Busters booklet.

In a word…interesting.

The recipe was easy and it baked nicely. But…you sensed there was a but coming… the lime was a bit of a problem.

I must admit I hesitated on reading the recipe, but decided to give it a go according to the method. You have to whizz up the whole lime with dates in the first step. As I predicted, the lime didn’t blitz finely enough. Despite scraping down the sides of the TM bowl and blitzing it further, that zest wasn’t really zest. It was still peel in my eyes.

The cake has a nice texture, but it’s bitter. Left a dreadful aftertaste.  It’s going to see the inside of the bin before the night’s out I’m afraid!

If you are going to try this recipe, I think it could be better if you zest a little lime peel first (maybe with a little raw sugar?) so it becomes really fine. I think the peel of the whole lime would be too much. Then I would mix only the juice of the lime with the dates in the first step of the recipe.

It might be worth a second try! Let me know if you have had more success with it. You win some, you lose some. It’s just about having a go!

2 thoughts on “Date and Lime Cake

  1. Kelly healy March 19, 2014 at 10:03 pm Reply

    I traded half an orange and this changes the flavour. Perfect every time and moist. Always asked for the recipe:)
    Give it another whirl:)

    • Kylie March 20, 2014 at 7:13 am Reply

      Thanks Kelly! I will try it!

Leave a Reply

