Moroccan Beef with Cous Cous

Now that I am feeling comfortable with my Thermomix, I am branching out more to convert my old favourite recipes. I have kept a folder of my favourites over the years and when I hit a rut in my cooking routine, out it comes and the ol’ faithfuls are put into action once again.

This is a terrific family meal which is simple and tasty. It is from Donna Hay’s “Cooking” book. I think it was one of the first Donna Hay books I purchased. And I have a few…well, more than a few. I’ve loved her recipes for years.

I usually cook this on the stove top for a few hours, or in the slow cooker, and it always tastes better the next day once the flavours have had a chance to blend.

I used Chuck Steak in this recipe. A cheaper cut which you need to cook for longer. I haven’t tried a recipe like this before in the Thermomix and I was keen to see what the results would be like.

May I say, I was very impressed! As a consultant for Thermomix, I am often asked about casseroles and how the Thermomix compares to a slow cooker. I have noticed that many Thermomix recipes use cheaper cuts of meat and I was eager to see the results.

I cooked this dish for 50 minutes and the meat was really tender and soft. Can the Thermomix do no wrong? I’m always so pleased with this machine every time a try out a new function.

I reduced the amount of liquid from the original recipe, and the dish is still quite liquid at the end of cooking. You could remove the MC whilst cooking and replace it with the basket to stop splatters. Or, if you are reheating it in a saucepan the following day as I did tonight, just reduce it a little then.

I have uploaded it onto the Thermomix Recipe Community. This website is a fantastic resource for all Thermie owners. You can just key in whatever ingredients you have and up comes a huge list of recipes for you. It’s great inspiration when you are bored with your regular meals. You can post all of your own triumphs for others to try as well!

Here’s the link: Moroccan Beef

IMG_1652

I hope you like it!

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Beef with Cous Cous

  1. 50plusandlovinglife April 16, 2013 at 8:42 pm Reply

    Hello,
    I just wanted to let you know that http://www.kimcarlisle.com nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogging award, I in turn have nominated you, I would Like to thank her and ask that you visit her site if you haven’t already

    • Kylie April 16, 2013 at 8:47 pm Reply

      Oh! Thanks so much… But I noticed you mentioned I had a fashion blog?!

  2. 50plusandlovinglife April 16, 2013 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Sorry, I typed it very late last night, I have gone in a corrected it now.

Leave a Reply

