Beef Rendang

Every now and then I trawl through magazines that have been lying around the house and rip out anything of value. It might be a garden picture, a home interior, a picture of some home storage I long for, a craft idea, but more often than not I am tearing out recipes to add to my vast collection. I love trying new things.

I came across this one in a Donna Hay magazine. I had tried the Beef Rendang Recipe in the Thermomix Everyday cookbook – not bad. But this recipe had a few more exotic ingredients and sounded interesting. So off I trotted and gave it a go.

I had never used galangal before. It’s a member of the ginger family and is often used in Asian cuisine. When raw, it’s flavour is stronger than ginger. It is very hard and I decided to peel and grate it with a microplane before adding it to the TM bowl.

galangal

I have also been experimenting with using cheaper cuts of meat in the Thermomix. I have been pleasantly surprised with the results. The meat is tender and soft, as if I have had it in a slow cooker for 3-4 hours. Is there anything this Thermomix cannot do? In fact, the recipe I converted it from says to cook the Beef Rendang for 3.5 hours in a casserole dish in the oven. About an hour does it in the Thermie. You have to love that!

The result was a delicious, fresh tasting meal. You could really pick out all the wonderful flavours and I loved knowing that everything in it was fresh. It really makes such a difference making things from scratch.

I have uploaded my converted recipe to the Thermomix Recipe Community.

Here is the link – Beef Rendang

A fantastic meal to make now that the weather is finally turning cooler. Autumn is here!

Beef Rendang

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

