Rocky Roadkill

A word of warning – this blog post comes under the heading “Kitchen Disasters” rather than “Recipes you’ll Love”. Not a great one to break the long drought of blog posts lately, but one that might possibly show you that I am far from domestic goddess today.

The festive season is upon us and saying it has been a busy week or two would be a huge understatement. It’s Friday afternoon, the kids have come home and are behaving quietly in their rooms,  and in an attempt to bring on the weekend I thought I would embark on a bit of festive cooking.

“Bring a plate of something sweet”, the invitation to Year Three Parents drinks said, so I thought Rocky Road would be a good one to make. Everyone loves a bit of Rocky Road right?

I followed the recipe but found myself getting deeper and deeper into a mess with each step!

First up was roughly chop marshmallows. No problem. Thermie can do that and it’ll be really quick and easy. Well, if you want a huge single lump of sticky marshmallow, it was great. Meanwhile I have the coconut and slivered almonds in the oven toasting. My next brain wave was to coat the marshmallow in the coconut to make it separate into bits now that I had rechopped it by hand. Good idea in theory, but I had it everywhere. All over my hands, stuck on the board, the knife and still pretty much sticking together in one big lump.

Press on Kylie, it’ll be ok! Next step, add the toasted nuts and chopped Turkish Delight and set aside until needed. In go the nuts, in goes the Turkish Delight. Now melt the chocolate. I set the Thermomix to work on the chocolate without a problem and turned back to my nutty, turkish, marshmallow mixture. Just when I thought I was getting somewhere, the hot nuts have now melted the marshmallow and the turkish delight and it is a bowl of sweet, gooey slop.

Chocolate melted. Pour that into the mixture and it further melts the mess and we have Rocky Road!

This is what it should look like…

rockyroad3-795634

 

… and what it actually looks like.

20131129-165221.jpg

Here we have Rocky Roadkill.  NOT going to Year Three Drinks tomorrow night. Suddenly I’m not feeling so festive anymore. I’ve lost my Christmas mojo. I’m sure it will return…it MUST! I have too many gifts and offerings to make over the coming weeks. I will post again when I have success.

A note to you all, don’t let your hot nuts touch the marshmallow. That’s my tip for today!

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Rocky Roadkill

  1. twobecsinapaddock November 29, 2013 at 5:04 pm Reply

    Hilarious!! Oh how I love a cooking disaster story (mainly because it makes me feel better)! Those hot nuts’ll get you every time.

    • Kylie November 29, 2013 at 5:08 pm Reply

      Too right Bec!! The sad thing is I’m still going to eat it! The kids are telling me off for wasting two blocks of good chocolate that they’ve been eyeing off for a week!

  2. twobecsinapaddock November 29, 2013 at 5:55 pm Reply

    I can just imagine. Well, I bet it will still taste fantastic. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

