Caramel slice and Condensed Milk

I have had my Thermomix for over a year now and I am still amazed at the things I can do with it. This week I my fellow consultants have enlightened me and shared a few fabulous recipes. The first being Condensed Milk.

What to say about condensed milk? I love this stuff. So much so that I have been known to eat it by the spoonful straight from the jar. My husband also has an affinity with it from his days in the Army Reserve when they would get a tube of condensed milk in their ration packs. And who wouldn’t love it? Condensed milk is simply cow’s milk from which the water has been evaporated. It is most commonly found in the form of sweetened condensed milk which can last for years, unrefrigerated and unopened. Condensed milk has been around since the 1800’s and was used by soldiers in the American Civil War. By the late 1860’s, condensed milk was a major product and is now used widely around the world.

20140123-090752.jpg

Did you know you can make your own condensed milk very easily in the thermomix? Here is the recipe I used – Condensed Milk.  It only takes 6 minutes and the amount equals that of the can you buy from Woolies. The taste and consistency are exactly the same and you can make it for a fraction of the price!

For a marriage made in heaven, my condensed milk recipe met up with a recipe for Caramel Slice. This recipe comes from another consultant from my Team (thanks Catherine!) and can be found here on the Recipe Community. It is decadently delicious as only caramel slice can be. The base is what I love about it. It has coconut in it which gives it a lovely chewy texture. Be sure to bake the caramel until golden brown so it sets properly. The dark chocolate on top adds a richness to the slice. In fact, it proved to be a little rich for my son and the neighbour’s kids. Kid 2 wasn’t keen and Neighbour age 7 declared, “Well, I wouldn’t put it in my Top 5, but it is still ok”!! They always turn up with wide eyes when they smell something baking and have now become rather discerning!

Personally, I wasn’t at all deterred by its richness. I also took it to work and it was promptly polished off! Definitely in my Top 5!

20140123-090438.jpg

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

